The Stirring


Maha Sona Collection

1375919_10151745020783036_1021649476_n

Flutter by Butterfly

Listen to The Verve and read on:

The Stirring
Maha Sona the Disturbing Collection
A collection of
Short Stories

By
Hajiani Sara Sona (Brock) Barnes
October 2013

Cometh the Moment Cometh the Woman
Warning: Not Suitable for those Over the Age of Six

About Me

The Man Who Set the Devil on Me and Made Me Find God

Armageddon: Enter the Maha Sona – Trumpeting Exorcism Ruqya into Cyberspace

The Artists Eye

The Barred Cacofonix

Patience – the Room of Requirement

Hail Hitler!

River of Fire

In Another World – On Casual Terms with Bruce Lee

Most Wanted – Unwanted Thing

Small Things Go a Long Way

The Strangled Squawk

A growing collection

I Thought I’d Strip for My 45th Birthday

The soft launch of my weblogs

Reaching Out
The Unlettered Bard
Toodle Oo Doodles

Rather than finish the sculpture behind curtains, I’m inviting you to share the crafting process.
Watch me err, till I get it right.
I don’t mind.
Peep.

Schedules and Deadlines

When will I lift and show live – such as a food and beverage social function to launch my first hard publication?
I don’t know.
In musician parlance, I’m jamming with schedules and deadlines at the moment.
Let the composition rise out of the jam.
Dangerous… but necessary
I want it to make people
feel
not
think

The Jimi Hendrix Experience
Let the river take its course

😀

Flutter by Butterfly

Although I knew it would happen overnight, I didn’t know when exactly. So I was prepared to be
unprepared.
I was feeling warm and cosy in the cocoon and thought – what a nice way to die…
But, it seems, I have to first fly.
Oops!
So flutter by butterfly
Butterflies!

The Stirring

From early on, people kept telling me – ‘Someone should write a book about you!’
It then became – ‘Why don’t you write a book…?’

They mellowed, and asked kindly and nicely…
I was also tired of repeating the story.
Sure, repetition was the purifying process.
Yet, boredom set in. It’s old hat to me, so what – it happened…
But people found it inspiring.
It became a burden.
I made it a duty.

I can’t write a regular biography. That would cramp my style. I don’t function well when I’m out of my style. So I don’t go there.
No – once upon a time and happily ever after – storybook.
I’ll give you a selection of short stories:
You put the pieces together and as the Doobie Brothers sang:
Listen to the Music

OMG!
The making of my magnum opus!!!
Enjoy the dance with me

😉

But, never forget:
you are dancing
with

Maha Sona

😉

Person Holding Attention Sign in Crowd to be Recognized

Dedication

This collection is for all those wonderful people along the way, who wanted nothing short of the book from me.

You wanted the book, so here’s the book!

I suppose, I wasn’t joking, when I quipped – If ever I do, I’ll give you the Dhammapada, the Bible, and the Kama Sutra, Sona style!

I remember with fondness and respect my leading friend, Karen De Jacolyn Seneviratne:
the first to inform me that I could write, therefore, I should.
Karen also introduced me to Scrabble.
May Allah bless her!
Karen bags ‘Most Outstanding Friend Award’, hands down, maasha Allah.
😀
Yes, Carotene, you do.
You saved my life,
but that’s another story.
No, I never forget.
May be
that’s
me…

My first short story collection is dedicated to you Karen.

May Allah bless you and your family for giving me confidence in myself.
How the verve song and all?
Enjoy the glow.
You deserve it.

😀

Hajiani Sara Sona (Brock) Barnes

5 thoughts on “The Stirring

  1. Pingback: The Buckwoman | The Stirring

Leave a comment