American Red Cross to blood donor: ‘Are you sure Palestine is a country?’

Bloody hell indeed! 😦

Sixteen Minutes to Palestine

A year and a half ago, the American Red Cross told me my trip to Palestine could not be verified because the country was absent from their database. Yesterday, the American Red Cross told me I am Israeli.

A classmate and I made our way to a mobile donation bus on campus after class on Friday. We were each directed into separate miniature offices where nurses or registered phlebotomists walked us through a brief questionnaire and took our vitals. One of the questions asked if I had traveled outside of the United States in the last twelve months. My answer was yes, to Egypt and to Palestine.

The lady who welcomed me into her office quickly found Egypt on the Red Cross database. Palestine, however, was nowhere to be found.

“Can you spell it, please?”

“P-A-L-E-S-T-I-N-E,” I told her.

“Spell it again, please? I can’t seem to find it.”

I…

View original post 697 more words

Leave a Reply

